The Thomas Griswold House Museum 1764
The Thomas Griswold House is a classic New England saltbox dwelling standing on a commanding knoll along a picturesque stretch of the old Post Road in Guilford-now designated as a state scenic road. Thomas Griswold III built the house for two of his sons, John and Ezra, circa 1764, on land that had been in the Griswold family since Thomas Griswold II moved from Wethersfield in 1695. John Griswold, Jr. sold his interest in the property to his cousin George, who also inherited his father Ezra's portion. The house remained in the possession of descendants of George and his wife, Nancy Landon, until purchased by the Guilford Keeping Society in 1958. The Guilford Keeping Society has carried out two major restoration projects, one in 1974 and one in 1995. The house is now furnished in the style of the early nineteenth century, representing the period of George and Nancy Griswold's occupancy. Several items mentioned in George Griswold's inventory are still in the house, including a parlor mirror and a dressing table. One upstairs room is dedicated to temporary exhibits of items from the Society's collection, primarily nineteenth century clothing and Guilford photographs.